RSS

Why I Started Running part 2

24 Jul

Last week, I ran a 5K. I signed up for this event because I knew I needed the accountability to discipline myself to run. I heard a quote recently that said, “The most difficult distance any runner crosses is from the bed to the front door.” I have been asked recently why I have been crossing that distance. I gave my first three reasons here. Here are more reasons why I started running.

4.  Confidence- Running has given me increased confidence in other areas of my life. I find myself entering other stressful arenas with a more relaxed mindset and a more positive attitude. This confidence makes me a better leader and a better speaker. Also, this is confidence, not arrogance. I cannot compare my accomplishments to anyone else, and I surely don’t think I am a better person than anyone else because I run!

5. Healthy Modeling to My Family- I am passionate about healthy churches and healthy leaders. My exercise habits are forming an example to my children. I want them to choose healthy habits in their life and I know that neither the school’s teachings, a TV campaign nor a lecture from me will ever replace my walking in the door having exercised. I want them to know this is a healthy thing to do and to participate in this because I want my three children to lead healthy lives.

6. Healthy Leadership to My Church- Ministers are notorious for being health risks. Disability insurance companies rates ministers in the same categories as construction workers and other physically intense laborers. Ministers are stereotyped for being out of shape and sedentary. This lack of health combined with the stresses of ministry leads to ministers having shortened careers and, in many cases, shortened life spans. Modeling healthy decisions makes one a better leader because one will be around to lead longer. Also, modeling these healthy decisions gives a leader more integrity. Modeling is an important and integral part of ministry.

7. Stewardship- I am not a “good” runner. People won’t ever look at me as an exemplar of graceful athleticism. I just don’t have those gifts. I want to do the best with what God has given me. God has given me this body. I will do the best I can with this one. In the past I have thought that our physical bodies are not important to God. I thought, “Why would I waste energy on this body when it is destined for death?” I have come to realize that Jesus redeems every aspect of our lives including our physical bodies. One cannot divorce the physical body from the spiritual condition. We are unified creatures! Because of this, I see physical health as a response to the Lordship of Jesus Christ over my being. I will be a good steward of everything God has given me, including my physical body.

These are some of my reasons for choosing to start running. I hope that perhaps you will chose to start doing the best with what God has given you. If that includes running, I believe you will find some benefits as well!

What would you add to this? What is the biggest benefit from healthy physical practices that you know?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Why I Started Running part 2

  1. Alyssa

    July 24, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    I like your 2 part series Jordan. I’ve never been a runner either. But you have inspired me to try. Thank you. And I’ll keep you posted on my efforts.

     
    • jordanhubbard

      July 25, 2011 at 12:18 am

      That’s awesome, Alyssa! Please do! Having a community around me helps me keep up the discipline.

       
  2. j scott

    July 25, 2011 at 6:57 am

    Running increases endorphin and adreline activity. Physically speaking, we are liberating our body, opening it up to full and complete release and relief. Running also relaxes the pressure points of life that imprison our minds and stress our souls. Running, I believe, can liberate the soul.

    Jordan, it ceases to amaze me the different types of physical bodies and abilities that I have witnessed complete endurance runs. Half, full, and triatholons. All shapes and sizes, running and completely free!

    Next up: 10K?

     

Leave a Reply

 
