RSS

Why I Started Running part 1.

23 Jul

A week ago, I ran my first 5K. For those who don’t know metric system conversions, a 5K is 3.1 miles. I have been asked several times over the past few weeks why I started running. I want to give 7 reasons here. I will post the first 3 today and finish later.

This is not what I look like when running...at all.

1. Physical Health- I have never been very physically active. The only time I used to run was to “run to the border” when Taco Bell had a special on. My physical health has always been a weakness. Some people are given physically fit bodies through good genes and heritage. Physical health for me will only come through discipline. I have had times when I have been upset with God about this, but now I am seeing what a gift this is for me.

2. Accomplishment-
Mondays can be a terrible time for me. I will have preached my heart out on Sunday, feeling more alive than I’ve ever been while proclaiming the Gospel. And then the realization happens that Sunday is just a few days away and I have to do it again. In my life, I need some markers that I can post and say, “There, I DID something.” No matter what happens for the rest of the day or week, running has given me a sense of accomplishment. I can say, “I did this.”

3. Soul Care- I don’t know why, but I have never wanted to listen to music while I run. Instead, I listen to sermons and messages from other Christian leaders. When I am running my best, my mind is absorbed in the message. I find myself reflecting on the scriptures and the messages throughout the day. This routine has become a spiritual discipline for me and helps to feed my soul.

To read the next 4 reasons click here.

What benefits have you encountered to running and exercise?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Why I Started Running part 1.

  1. Mark Groveunder

    July 24, 2011 at 7:16 am

    For me it helps reduce stress which helps make everything better. It also helps me clear my mind. When I reach a clear mental state when running, my mind then switches to creative mode. I’m not naturally creative, so this helps me a lot.

     
    • jordanhubbard

      July 25, 2011 at 12:21 am

      Mark, I have yet to reach the clear mental state! 🙂 I think there is something about running that helps me think about possibilities and the “what-might-be” rather than just the “what is.” Thanks for sharing!

       
  2. Amanda Duggan

    July 24, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Jordan, your #1 is just like me. I was just talking to an older friend who was bragging about how her grown daughter runs marathons in very short times, how athletic she is, etc. I told her that I’ve never been naturally gifted athletically, so when I run an 11 minute mile in a half-marathon, it is COMPLETELY because of hard work and determination, and ultimately is just a reward from God for that hard work. I’ll never win a race, but I’ll get uncomfortable and do it anyway. That’s the only way I’ll ever be physically healthy, too. Unfortunately, I don’t have those good genes either.

     
    • jordanhubbard

      July 25, 2011 at 12:19 am

      An 11 minute mile! That is so far beyond what I can do right now. I am glad you are modeling this for your children as well, Amanda.

       
  3. Fazollo

    December 31, 2011 at 1:15 am

    Dear Jordan,
    I want to thank you for your words, I am also running and I enjoyed the idea of ​​running the church listening to sermons.
    I’m from Brazil, Rio de Janeiro. This is great for running!
    God bless you tremendously!
    We are brothers in Christ!

     

Leave a Reply

 
