RSS

What I love about my church today (June 5, 2011)

06 Jun

Each week, I want to share something I appreciate about my community of faith, the Belton Church of Christ located in Belton, TX.  Each week, I will highlight one “bright spot” in my congregation.

Courage is the ability to do the right thing even when it is difficult.

I love my church because of the courageous people I know and love. David and Kristi are close friends. When we moved back to Belton Church of Christ, my wife and I started a LifeGroup with this couple. Our children play together and are all good friends. Over the past 18 months of co-leading LifeGroup we have grown together with them. Being friends with them has been a joy and is one of the easiest things I do.

David and Kristi live in Harker Heights, a city almost 20 miles from Belton. We have a large number of people in our faith community who live in Harker Heights and Killeen. Despite having a significant amount of people in these other communities we do not have any LifeGroups meeting in that community. People who want to connect in LifeGroups must drive to Belton or Temple to join groups. David and Kristi feel a burden for their community and for the the BCC families in west Bell County. Because of these passions they are leaving my LifeGroup and starting a new LifeGroup that will meet in their home. This will immediately provide a place for 12 people who are currently not connected to be connected in LifeGroups.


Tonight was the last time that David and Kristi are a part of the LifeGroup I have called home for a year and a half. There are so many reasons for this couple to stay with us. Our friendship, our comfort, the joys of seeing our children play together, our common interests in superhero movies (well, for David and me anyway), a common love for Christ and for God’s Word. Easy would be to stay with us. God’s mission calls for them to go and birth a new group. I love their courage to do the right thing even though it is hard.

How have you seen courage in your faith community?

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “What I love about my church today (June 5, 2011)

  1. Kristi

    June 6, 2011 at 11:06 am

    We are so humbled by your sweet words, Jordan. Thank you, thank you. You & Debbie & the kiddos mean the world to us and we sure will miss our Sunday nights with you! We’ll just have to make up for it another night each week.
    What do WE love about our church? Jordan Hubbard.

     
    • jordanhubbard

      June 6, 2011 at 9:21 pm

      Awww *blushes*

      Thanks for setting an example for the rest of us to follow, Kristi. I am thankful for you, David and the kids and I am excited to see how God uses you in west Bell County!

       
  2. Karen Jensen

    June 7, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Hooray David and Kristi! This is just the push we needed to join lifegroups! We’ve put it off for health reasons, etc and I think we’re ready! Can you e-mail me the details?

     
    • jordanhubbard

      June 7, 2011 at 8:03 am

      Karen,
      Do you want info on David and Kristi’s lifegroup or are you wanting info in general? Email lance@beltonchurch.com to talk to Lance about group options if you want to talk to him about it!

       
      • Karen Jensen

        June 11, 2011 at 8:28 pm

        Thanks Jordan – I’ve heard from Kristi and David and have the address and the time. We will be there!

         
  3. David

    June 11, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Thank you for the kind words, Jordan! We are ready to launch, and pray for God’s guidance as this new Life Group takes shape.

     

Leave a Reply

 
