RSS

What I love about my church today (Easter Sunday edition)

25 Apr

Each week, I want to share something I appreciate about my community of faith, the Belton Church of Christ located in Belton, TX.  Each week, I will highlight one “bright spot” in my congregation.

“They have taken the Lord out of the tomb, and we don’t know where they have put him!”

In case you missed it, today is Easter Sunday. Easter is my favorite day of the year. Reflecting on the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus strengthens my faith in a meaningful way. My particular faith tradition has historically not paid attention to the church calendar, and yet I find that many in my congregation naturally respond to the Easter season with renewal and hope.

Like many congregations, my church was much more full than usual. We anticipated our need for space by creating two worship experiences. I am very thankful for many people going above and beyond their usual acts of service to prepare for two worship times. Worshipping with two energetic assemblies today was an incredible blessing. I am grateful to serve a congregation that believes in the resurrection of Christ and is willing to take advantage of the opportunities to reach out to friends and neighbors at Easter.

One of the things I would like to share happened on Friday of this past week. One of the parents of young children in the congregation arranged to have a craft party for many of her daughter’s friends.  The children all assembled.  As the children were playing, one of the adult helpers began to ask the children about their favorite things about Easter. Immediately, the children began responding with unexpected answers.  Instead of talking about egg hunts and bunnies, the children started saying how much they liked the fact that Jesus is alive and he’s not dead.  They also mentioned going to church with their family and having fun at church. They talked about the Empty Tomb. Afterwards, the adults processed their children’s responses to this question. The parents talked about how amazed they were that their children so quickly thought of Jesus. The parents reflected how our congregation’s excitement about Easter has helped our children have a much healthier view of Easter. These parents are grateful for a church that makes it easier for them to share the Easter story with their children. I echo these parents’ thanks for a church that takes the Resurrection seriously and passes the story of Easter to the children.

What was your favorite thing about Easter? How has Easter strengthened your faith?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “What I love about my church today (Easter Sunday edition)

  1. Brandon

    April 25, 2011 at 8:28 am

    What a win! It is good news when the excitement reaches the children.

     
  2. David

    April 25, 2011 at 8:56 am

    I love the reminder that, without the Resurrection, nothing else matters. Favorite moment: About an hour ago, tucking in our 4 year-old, walking out of his bedroom, and hearing him say, “Happy Easter”…

     
  3. CJ Rich

    April 26, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    What a blessing! Thanks for sharing, Jordan.

     
  4. Travis

    April 26, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    I’m with you! We took our girls to see “Hop” over the weekend as a fun family thing. But you know what my 4yr old has talked about all Easter weekend? “Jesus on the cross” “He died for us” “He is alive though” Not the (dumb) movie. Her excitement excites me even more!

     
    • jordanhubbard

      April 27, 2011 at 2:16 am

      Great response Travis! I’m so glad she knows what it is about. That says a lot about the way you have led her.

       

Leave a Reply

 
