RSS

Why I Love My Church Today…

18 Apr

One of the things I want to do with this blog is to tell what I appreciate about my community of faith, the Belton Church of Christ located in Belton, TX.  Each week, I will highlight one “bright spot” in my congregation.

We have a small Spanish-speaking congregation that meets in the Belton Church of Christ building.  After our English worship service ended, about 20 Spanish-speaking people came into our worship center so that Julie could be baptized.  Julie is an adult woman with whom one of the members of the Spanish-speaking congregation met and began to dialogue about Christ.  I stayed in the worship center just a little longer than most people and saw the people gathering for the baptism, so I decided to participate with everyone.  Two of the young men in the Spanish-speaking congregation got up to lead songs for the people before the baptism.  They began to sing in Spanish. I do not speak Spanish, but one of the young men offered me his songbook to sing along with them. Even though I butchered the Spanish language I really appreciated their efforts to include me.  I didn’t understand many of the words that were spoken when Julie was baptized, but I understood the look of joy on her face when she confessed Jesus Christ as the Son of God.  Her declaration of faith and baptism was sweet to witness, and I was blessed to be there.

On Friday, a soldier was baptized in a swimming pool in Killeen.  Dante is the boyfriend of one of the young women at the Belton Church of Christ, and her father baptized this man. I am so grateful that Dante had a relationship with Christians that led him to this moment in his life. I am thankful that the call of Christ to make disciples is being fulfilled in my faith community.  I love my church!

What encourages you about your faith community?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Why I Love My Church Today…

  1. Jennifer @ Jane Deere

    April 19, 2011 at 3:43 am

    Lovin’ the new blog, Jordan! Great job!

     
    • jordanhubbard

      April 19, 2011 at 9:40 am

      Coming from a pro blogger like you, I really appreciate that!

       
  2. Barry Wiseman

    April 19, 2011 at 3:48 am

    Their giving spirit, willing to support missionaries in Honduras, even to help buy one a motorcycle to reach people in rough terrains, and to send me to help prepare missionaries halfway around the world to go back into their native SE Asia homes with the Gospel. Incredible way that God works through them!

     

Leave a Reply

 
