RSS

First!

14 Apr

I have read enough blogs by now to know that the first time a person blogs, that person is to state their reasons for blogging.  The writer is trying to answer the questions, “Why should you listen to me?  What do I bring to the table?”

first post...first pitch...

So… Why am I blogging?  Why should you listen to me?  What do I bring to the table?  Let me answer by introducing my loves.

  • I love Jesus.  I believe Jesus is the best and fullest expression of God.  Jesus is the best model for life now and life later.
  • I love my family.  Debbie and I have been married since 2003 and we have three young children. These are the people I want to be around more than anyone else.
  • I love the Church and I believe that the Church is the best hope of the world.
  • I love my church.  I have grown up among a particular tribe of Christians I love, and I particularly love the Christians I have chosen to live among and minister to.
  • I love learning.  I enjoy taking classes and formal learning environments.  I am currently pursuing a Doctorate of Ministry degree because I love the thrill of discovery.
  • I love stories.  I love to hear stories, tell stories and live stories.  Funny stories, stories of faith, stories of courage and stories of wisdom are what I love to experience and to share.

Having said this, I am blogging because I am passionate about healthy churches and healthy church leaders. I believe that healthy churches will form healthy Christians, and I want to see Christ transform families, communities and people through healthy churches.  I want to focus on healthy practices for congregations and congregational leaders, share stories of health, and provide a place for others to discuss healthy churches and healthy leadership.

I went first.  What loves would you like to introduce?  What passions do you have?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “First!

  1. John Laster

    April 18, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Looking forward to the dialogue Jordan; you bring a lot to the table. Healthy leadership fosters healthy congregations.

     
    • jordanhubbard

      April 18, 2011 at 8:26 am

      John,
      Thank you! I really would appreciate your insight as I start this journey. You are a great thinker!

       
  2. Benjamin Neeley

    April 18, 2011 at 4:28 am

    I am excited about your blog. Glad you started it.

     
    • jordanhubbard

      April 18, 2011 at 8:26 am

      Thank you Ben! I hope this is useful to others.

       
  3. John Gallagher

    April 18, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    What a fabulous intro! Looking forward to hearing more from you. You sound like you have a great heart for all the right things.

     
    • jordanhubbard

      April 18, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      Thank you John. I am humbled that you stopped by here.

       

Leave a Reply

 
